Maquoketa Cardinal Taven Rich has been nominated for the Dan Gable Mr. Wrestler of the Year Award. Vote for him now through Jan. 10.


News Editor

Vote now to help Maquoketa wrestler Taven Rich be named the Iowa 2A Dan Gable Mr. Wrestler of the Year.

Fareway Stores, Inc. and Body Armor present the Dan Gable Mr. and Ms. Wrestler of the Year Awards in coordination with IAwrestle and Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association.

The IWCOA accepted nominations from high school coaches for student athletes in each of the three state wrestling classes. A committee selected by the IWCOA narrowed the list to 15 finalists for public vote. Rich is one of those 15 in Class 2A.

Rich sports an unblemished 19-0 record so far in the 2019-20 season. He placed third in Class 2A state wrestling in 2019.

He is ranked No. 2 in Class 2A and No. 4 in the state.

Type in the following address — iawrestle.com/2019/12/23/2020-dan-gable-mr-and-ms-wrestler-of-the-year-vote-top-15 — and search for the 2020 Class 2A list of names.

Fans can vote once per day for their top wrestler in each category (Class 1A, 2A and 3A) until Jan. 10, when the list will be narrowed to the top 7. 

Another round of voting will take place to determine the three finalists. The fan votes will count as one vote toward the IWCOA’s committee votes in each round. 

All finalists will be invited to the season-end gala, where a winner will be announced in each class. 

The two runner-up student athletes in each class will each receive finalist award plaques.