Jerry Miles and Tyler Soppe battle for the lead in the IMCA Sport Mods race at the Maquoketa Speedway Saturday, Aug. 22.

Back-to-School Night puts lots of smiles on children’s faces Saturday, Aug. 22, at the Maquoketa Speedway, where some new and different faces also graced victory lane.

Some 73 cars made the trip to the Maquoketa Speedway Saturday. All five classes were in action along with bikes, backpacks, and school supplies for the kids! Oh, yeah, and a lot of nickels were given away as well.  

A total of 19 IMCA Modifieds set the grid for their 20-lap feature. Steve Gustaf and Jaden Fryer set the front row. Fryer captured the lead right off the drop of the green flag with Matt Short a close second. A lap-13 caution bunched them back up; however, Fryer held on to the lead and led all 20 laps to take the win. Troy Cordes worked up to second, followed by Jeff Larson in third.  Matt Short held on for fourth, with Bruce Garnhart picking up fifth.  Heat race winners were Fryer, Kenny Kostenbader, and Larson.  

Reece Norton and Lane Vohringer set the front row of the Rev Chassis/Gade Motors IMCA Stock Car Feature. Norton led the first lap but also brought out the first caution, setting Andrew Chelf and Jacob Ellithorpe on the front row for the restart. Ellithorpe jumped out front and led the remaining 14 laps to take the checkers. Justin Temeyer worked his way to a second-place finish, followed by Andrew Chelf, Riley Hanson, and Vohringer rounding out the top 5. Chelf was the heat race winner. 

Some 23 IMCA Sport Mods made the call for their 15-lap main event, Dakota Cole and Joe Grant led the field to the drop of the green. Grant led the first lap, but Jerry Miles and Tyler Soppe traded the top spot for the next nine laps. Soppe eventually took control of the top spot and won. Shane Paris was able to make a last lap pass for second, leaving Miles to settle for third. Jarett Franzen and Bob Silaggi came home fourth and fifth. Heat race winners were Chance Huston, Miles, and Corey Kuntzelman. 

Flag to flag, the Jackson County Fairboard Sport Compacts hit the track next. Logan Jones and Brandon Schneider set the front row. Ashley Reuman took the early and led the first two laps. Brett Marshall lead the next two until a lapped car forced him off the high side of the track, giving the lead back to Reuman. A last-lap pass would give the lead and the win to Brett Marshall. Reuman held on for second, followed by Austin Vorbeck, Tim Sibley, and John Campbell rounding out the top 5. Vorbeck and Reuman were the heat race winners.

Dawson Bowling and Jordan Miles set the front row of the Karls Auto Salvage IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Dawson Bowling looked to have the race in hand when he jumped out to the early lead and held it for the first 10 laps. Brandon White was able to get around and led the last five and the most important one, the checkered flag lap. Dawson Bowling held on for second, while Lukas Short, Brandt Cole, and Randy Lamar rounded out the top 5. Short and Lamar were the heat race winners. 

Watch Saturday, Aug. 29, for Season Championship and Hall of Fame Night at the Maquoketa Speedway.