The field of competitors lined up to pay respect to Randy Byerly, a two-time hobby stock racing champion at the Maquoketa Speedway. Byerly died in an automobile accident last year. Saturday’s races were held in his honor.

Randy Byerly, a two-time Hobby Stock champion at the Maquoketa Speedway, died last year in a vehicle accident. Saturday’s feature winners raced in his memory. 

The American Iron Racing Series was on hand at the speedway Saturday, with Dan Kessler using his pole position redraw to jump out front and never look back. Bruce Yoerger took second and Tim Bader, third. Ron Cook and Dan Hudspeth rounded out the top 5. Matt Hudspeth and Paul Howard won the heat races. 

Twenty-nine IMCA sport mods vied for a spot in the 24-car main event. Jerry Miles and Jarett Franzen led the field to the drop of the green flag. Franzen put his No. 33 car out front early, but after a few early cautions Bob Silaggi got around him to take the point. Franzen kept the pressure on Silaggi most of the race but was passed by Shane Paris late in the race. Silaggi took home the win, followed but Paris. Franzen finished third, with Tony Olson and Tyler Soppe rounding out the top 5. Heat race winners were Ed Mills, Joe Grant, Paris, and Silaggi. Justin Becker and Ryan Reed won the two B Mains heats.   

Chase Zaruba and Andrew Chelf led the Rev Chassis/Gabe Motor Company IMCA stock cars. Chelf put his No.17 car out front at the beginning and held it until lap 12, when Jacob Ellithorpe worked around him for the lead. Ellithorpe took the win followed by Kyle Merkes in second and Chelf, third. Leah Wroten and Joe Zrostlik rounded out the top 5. Chelf and Scott Jordan won heat races. 

Ashley Rueman and Brett Marshall led the Jackson County Fair Board sport compact feature. Marshall jumped out to the early lead and was still there on lap 12; he went on to win the race. Cody Staley and Dustin Forbes traded the runner-up spot most of the race. Staley held on to second, followed by Forbes in third. Tyler Shady and Tim Sibley came home with fourth and fifth, respectively. Forbes and Marshall were heat race winners. 

The Randy Byerly Memorial Karl’s Auto Salvage IMCA Hobby Stocks hit the track for their 15-lap main event. Randy Lamar and Dawson Bowling lead the field to the green. Lamar put his No. 4r car out front immediately. Despite a late-race battle with the No. 01 car of Kile Vohringer and the No. 1k car of Kaden Reynolds, Lamar led flag to flag and took the win. Vohringer went home in second, followed by Kaden Reynolds in third. Dakota Simonsen and Brett Vanous rounded out the top 5. Lamar, Simonsen, and Vohringer were heat race winners. 

The 20-lap IMCA Modified feature was the final event of the night. Bob Dominacki used his pole-position start to lead the first couple laps. Jeff Larson got around Dominacki and gained the lead. A couple late-race cautions slowed the field, but Larson held onto the lead for the remainder of the race and took the victory. Bryce Garnhart worked his way into the second spot, followed by Ray Cox Jr. in third. Steve Johnson and Austin Blume rounded out the top 5. Jaden Fryer and Jeff Larson won the heat races.