Ronald Adrian

Ronald Adrian

Ronald Lewis Adrian, 95, formerly of Elwood, Iowa, passed away on Wednesday, June 26, 2019, at the Martin Center in Cedar Falls, Iowa. He was born on May 24, 1924 to Bernice and August E. Adrian. He graduated from Elwood High School in 1941, and served in the U.S. Army during World War II. 

On Sept. 3, 1950, he was united in marriage to Wilma Wilken in Preston, Iowa. Together they farmed southeast of Elwood for many years until moving to Cedar Falls in 2012. He was a member of the Bethlehem Lutheran Church in Lost Nation where he served on the Church Council. He also served on the Elwood Consolidated School Board for several years and later became president of the Delwood Community PTO. 

He was a Clinton County soil commissioner for many years. As a farmer he always felt it was important to farm the land in a way that would benefit future generations. As a Brookfield Township steward, he was instrumental in establishing the Marie Ketelsen Nature Preserve in Clinton County, Iowa. He served on the Lost Nation Co-op Store and Elevator Boards. He also held offices within the Masonic Lodge, and was a member of the American Legion Post #381.

Survivors include his wife, Wilma, of 68 years; two daughters, Janice (Dan) Davis of Tupelo, Mississippi, and Ronda McCutcheon of Lost Nation; one son, Dr. Burton (Vonna) Adrian of Cedar Falls. Also surviving him are a sister, Kathryn Jebsen of Chetek, WI; one brother Wayne (Twyla) Adrian of Maquoketa; nine grandchildren, Nick (Erin) Novak, Heidi (Clint) Risley, Cassandra Novak, Tonya (Dr. Brian) Miller, Melanie (Tyler) Baker, Matthew Adrian, Brian Adrian, Shane (Christine) Davis and Laura Davis, along with 11 great grandchildren. 

He was preceded in death by his parents; one sister, Elinor Kleinsmith; and a great-granddaughter, Helena Davis.

Visitation will be at Bethlehem Lutheran Church in Lost Nation at 10 a.m. on Monday, July 1, with funeral services following at 11 a.m. Burial will be in the Lost Nation Cemetery. 

Pallbearers will be Dan Davis, Nick Novak, Darrell Jebsen, Dean Adrian, Michael Kleinsmith, and Matthew Adrian.