Five teams of Iowa youth won scholarships while participating in the Senior Division of the Iowa Pork Producers Association Youth Swine Judging Contest. The contest was held in conjunction with the 2019 Iowa Pork Congress in Des Moines in late January.

There were 64 teams represented in the senior division of the contest. Winners were Bellevue FFA, Grinnell FFA, Benton County 4-H, Southeast Polk FFA, and Ballard FFA.

The top team was Bellevue FFA 1; they earned 770 points. Team members were Nick Deppe, Brooklyn Moore, Jeb Schwager and Wade Schwager. Each member receives a $750 scholarship.

Each team in both divisions was required to judge four classes of hogs to sharpen their commercial gilt selection and market hog evaluation skills. They also scored a keep/cull gilt class, did live carcass evaluation, and viewed a carcass demonstration followed by tests on their knowledge of meat quality and the commercial pork industry. Points were awarded for each activity.