The University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, has announced the 2019 spring dean’s list.

To be included on the list, a student must have earned a grade point of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale, while taking at least 12 hours of graded work during the semester. On the 4.0 system, an A is worth four points; a B, three points; a C, two points, and a D, one point. 

Area students named to the spring 2019 dean’s list include:

Andrew: Tori Dursky

Bellevue: Madison Anderson, Samantha Anderson, Maya Jess, Louren Kilburg, Jennifer Paxson, Adrienne Tebbe, and Jacob Voss

Elwood: Emily Schepers

Goose Lake: Benjamin Lange

Maquoketa: Elly Flenker and Aubrey Lewis

Miles: Alecca Gray

Preston: Hannah Bormann, Sabrina Bormann, Kelsey Feller, Sean Lange, Kalli Mller, and Kiley Petersen

Sabula: Zach Marburger

Wheatland: Matthew Lafrenz and Morgan VanderHeiden

Zwingle: Andrew Kringle and Bailey Lenz.


Wartburg students receive degrees

Wartburg College awarded diplomas to 225 students during Spring Commencement Sunday, May 26.

Area students who graduated include: 

Hannah Kilburg of Maquoketa, who graduated Cum Laude with a degree in Psychology. She is the daughter of Bruce J. Kilburg and Scott and Shawn Taylor

Codey Olson of LaMotte, who graduated Summa Cum Laude with a degree in mathematics and physics. He is the son of Lorna Olson

Wartburg, is a four-year liberal arts college located in Waverly and enrolls 1,498 students. 

Wartburg is affiliated with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America and named after the castle in Germany where Martin Luther took refuge disguised as a knight during the stormy days of the Reformation while translating the Bible from Greek into German.