• Scott Community College’s Beta Zeta Epsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society of the Two-Year College hosted an induction ceremony for their new members on March 3, 2021. 

Thomas Watkins of Maquoketa was among the inductees.

Since September 2020, fifty-seven members have accepted membership in this Honor Society that bases its membership on superior academic achievement and is conferred by invitation only.

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and rewards high-achieving students and provides scholarships for continued studies as well as opportunities to develop such critical leadership skills as problem solving, project planning, team-building, effective communication and conflict resolution. 

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming.

Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges. 

• The University of Dubuque congratulates students on being appointed to the Fall Semester 2020 Academic Dean’s List.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must earn a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale for that semester.

The following area students were named to the dean’s list:

Bellevue: Nathan Brinker, Keily Davis, Mark Eganhouse, Amanda Holm, Nyla Kahl, Kennedy Michels, Payton Quagliano, Makinlee Roeder, Shabnam Schmidt, and Kylee Unke

Maquoketa: Megan Collister, Aziz Eshtrefi, Chloe Fields, and Tamara Koontz

Miles: Lexee Stoll

Onslow: Ella Osterkamp

Oxford Junction: Emma Vacek

Preston: RaeAnn Carlson

The University of Dubuque is a private university offering undergraduate, graduate, and theological seminary degrees. 

Founded in 1852, UD is home to around 2,300 students.