Clarke University lists spring graduates

Clarke University, located in Dubuque, awarded degrees and honors at its commencement ceremony on May 18, 2019.

The following area students were honored at the ceremony:

Bellevue: Caroline M Herrig, bachelor of arts, psychology, liberal studies, cum laude; Katherine A Herrig, doctor of physical therapy, physical therapy; Katherine Elizabeth Ruff, doctor of nursing practice, nursing

LaMotte: Theresa Catherine DeVries, doctor of physical therapy, physical therapy; Nicole S. Stokes, master of organizational leadership, organizational leadership

Maquoketa: Lucinda Marie Althoff, master of arts in education, education; Lauren Andrea Claeys, bachelor of arts, elementary education, summa cum laude

Onlsow: Ben Urbain, master of arts in education, education

Sabula: Nicole Ann Gruhn, doctor of physical therapy, physical therapy

Founded in 1843 by the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Clarke University is located near the Mississippi River in Dubuque.


Hawkeye Community College announces spring dean’s list

Hawkeye Community College, Waterloo, announces the Dean’s List for the spring 2019 semester. 

The Dean’s List is official recognition of outstanding academic accomplishment by full-time students. 

To make the Dean’s List, an individual must be a full-time student and successfully complete 12 or more credits in the fall or spring semesters with a semester GPA of 3.50 or better for courses taken at Hawkeye. 

Area students named to the dean’s list include:

Cascade: Zachary Gassman

Maquoketa: Jenna Yeager

Miles: Carly Haskens

Preston: Craig Nolting

Spragueville: Cambrie Lane


Iowa State University announces spring 2019 Dean’s List 

Approximately 9,000 Iowa State University, Ames, students have been recognized for outstanding academic achievement by being named to the spring semester 2019 Dean’s List. 

Students named to the Dean’s List must have earned a grade point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale while carrying a minimum of 12 credit hours of graded course work. 

Area students named to the dean’s list include: (Note: number is class year):

Baldwin: Sydney Ann Stender, 4, Agricultural and Life Sciences Education

Bellevue: Katelyn L. Boeckenstedt, 4, Agricultural and Life Sciences Education; Maggie Strait Carstensen, 4, Apparel, Merchandising, and Design; Megan Marie Litterer, 2, Software Engineering; Megan Marvin, 4, Animal Ecology; Burke Joseph O’Brien, 2, Aerospace Engineering

Bernard: Matthew Ryan Pfab, 2, Biology (AGLS); Joshua Benjamin Redmond, 4, Statistics; Renee L. Redmond, 3, Sociology; Celine Rickels, 4, Animal Ecology; Emily Marie Weber, 4, Kinesiology and Health

Bryant: Brad Michael Holdgrafer, 4, Agricultural Studies

Charlotte: Hunter Bryce Bielenberg, 4, Agronomy; Haleigh Noelle Hughes, 4, Kinesiology and Health

Delmar: Blair Kristine Bennis, 4, Agronomy

Goose Lake: Jayna Leigh Farrell, 4, Animal Science; Justin M. Swanton, 4, Animal Science

LaMotte: Madison K. Lapke, 4, Global Resource Systems; Kelsey S. Maier, 4, Architecture - Professional Degree; Austin J. Sanders, 3, Agricultural Engineering

Maquoketa: Sarah Michaela Dickinson, 4, Elementary Education; Alyssa Kay Hovey, 2, Psychology; Logan Alexander Mayberry, 4, Chemical Engineering; Marcus Richard Prull, 2, Animal Ecology

Miles: Colin Marburger, 4, Animal Science

Preston: Kyle Joseph Empen, 4, Management Information Systems; Marta Makensi Grant, 3, Agricultural Business; Sara Sue Hartung, 4, Marketing; Kimberly Jo Strait, 4, Veterinary Medicine


Jenna Johnson

graduates high

school from Iowa Connections Academy

 Iowa Connections Academy, a tuition-free online public school serving students in grades K-12 across Iowa, celebrated more than 65 graduating seniors during the school’s annual high school graduation ceremony, the largest graduating class since the school opened in 2012. 

Hundreds of family members, friends, teachers and administrators gathered in West Des Moines for the ceremony on Saturday, May 18. 

One of the high school students, Jenna Johnson, is a resident from Maquoketa.

For more information, call 800-382-6010 or visit the school’s website,


Kennicker receives all academic honors

Nicholas Kennicker of Delmar was one of 18 Wartburg track and field athletes to earn U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic honors during the 2018-19 NCAA Division III indoor and outdoor track and field seasons, Waverly.

Wartburg, a four-year liberal arts college, enrolls 1,498 students. Wartburg is affiliated with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America and named after the castle in Germany where Martin Luther took refuge disguised as a knight during the stormy days of the Reformation while translating the Bible from Greek into German.


Brinker graduates

Morningside College, Sioux City, recently conferred 134 Master of Arts in Teaching degrees and 21 Master of Science in Nursing degrees during its graduate commencement.

In addition to the spring graduates, degrees were conferred upon August and December 2018 graduates, as well as students expected to graduate in August 2019.

Among the graduating students was Melissa Brinker of Bellevue. She received Master of Arts in Teaching, August of 2018.

Morningside College is a private college located in Sioux City, Iowa.